HEADQUARTERS OF THE II EASTERN FRONT
(COMANDANCIA DEL II FRENTE ORIENTAL)
On March 11th of 1958 this military site was built with the name of II Eastern Front Frank País García (II Frente Oriental Frank País García) and was headed by Commander Raúl Castro Ruz. It covered an area of 12 000 square kilometres that includes the municipalities of Mayarí, Sagua de Tánamo, Baracoa, Yateras, Guantánamo, Alto Songo and San Luis and for the next trimester of the struggle against Fulgencio Batista’s dictatorship, its control was extended to Banes and Antilla.
In this area on December 7th of 1958 the Rebel Air Force (Fuerza Aérea Rebelde) carried out its first successful combat mission.
After the Revolution’s triumph in Cuba, on October 10th of 1978 the National Monument Commission (Comisión Nacional de Monumentos), in order to honour the work carried out by this Front in the struggle for enduring independence, agreed to proclaim it a National Monument.
For more information: